The Papua Insects Foundation

about us:


It is without saying that we expect the information in this website to be thoroughly studied and correct. Nevertheless some inaccuracies or omissions (in presented lists) may occur for which we then apologize. We would appreciate your comments and corrections for which you can contact us

The composer of this site cannot be held responsible for the content and information contained in it, nor for any consequences of their use. No legal claims can be made based on the use of any information on this website.

In case of disagreement or incorrect information, please contact the author of the insect group in question, who is in all times responsible for the presented information.

If, according to the owner, his/her website or photograph is unjustly linked to this website, he/she should contact us immediately and we will remove the link or photograph.


All rights reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior permission of the Papua Insects Foundation. However, checklists and distribution maps are free to use if refered to this website in case of publications. We would appreciate it if you send us a copy of your publication in which we are cited.


Photo colofon

Photographs by authors of specialism or mentioned if otherwise © 2005/2006/2007/2008/2009/2010/2011/2012/2013/2014/2015/2016/2017/2018/2019/2020/2021 (in alphabetical order):

Written permission for use in this website by:

Gazetteer colofon

Allen Allison
Nationaal Herbarium Leiden (at present Naturalis Biodiversity Center)


Privacy policy

Since 25th May 2018 we are obligated to act according to the European law of privacy protection. What this means to you and for the protection of your data, pictures and private addresses you can read in our privacy policy.


The board of the Papua Insects Foundation

Rob de Vos (chairman and webmaster) –
Siep Sinnema (secretary) –
Monica Guimaraes Cruz (treasurer) -
Piet Zumkehr (member) -
Gerrit Withaar (member) -

Eulalia Gasso-Miracle (member) –
Daawia Suhartawan (foreign member) -
Evie Warikar (foreign member) -

last update 9th December 2021